Preclearance Operations May Be Extended To 10 New Airports

Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has announced that the United States intends to enter into negotiations to expand air preclearance operations to 10 new foreign airports.

The 10 airports identified for possible preclearance locations are:

  1. Brussels Airport, Belgium;
  2. Punta Cana Airport, Dominican Republic;
  3. Narita International Airport, Japan;
  4. Amsterdam Airport Schipol, Netherlands;
  5. Oslo Airport, Norway;
  6. Madrid-Barajas Airport, Spain;
  7. Stockholm Arlanda Airport, Sweden;
  8. Istanbul Ataturk Airport, Turkey;
  9. London Heathrow Airport, United Kingdom; and
  10. Manchester Airport, United Kingdom.

The United States and the governments of the host countries are now expected to begin negotiations on setting up of the preclearance facilities in the respective airports. New preclearance facilities would be established once final air preclearance agreements are signed.

About Preclearance Program

Under the preclearance program, which is currently available in 15 airports, travelers undergo the immigration, customs, and agriculture inspection before boarding a direct flight to the United States rather than upon arrival in the U.S. The program facilities U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Officers stationed abroad to screen and make admissibility decisions about passengers and their accompanying goods or baggage heading to the United States before they leave the foreign port.

Check My Eligibility

What VisaPro Customers Are Saying

I have known VisaPro since 2006 and we have work together on many instances which required intense brainstorming and VisaPro's ideas and suggestions have always been par excellence. An opportunity to interact and work with VisaPro is a true privilege."

Get a Free Visa Assessment